History“THE STORE MUST EXUDE THAT IT IS MADE BY PEOPLE WHO LOVE BEAUTIFUL THINGS. THE HOUSE MUST HAVE A SOUL.”
FOUNDED IN 1895 AS VIENNA’S FIRST SOPHISTICATED DEPARTMENT STORE, STEFFL OWES ITS NAME TO THE STEPHANSDOM TOWER, WHICH THE VIENNESE AFFECTIONATELY NICKNAMED "STEFFL".
Kärntner Straße 19, STEFFL's current location, was the former site of the M. Neumann department store, which was built in 1895-96 to the meticulous plans of Vienna's own Otto Wagner. On the 11th and 12th of April 1945 the building was set ablaze during the Battle of Vienna and was demolished in 1949 as a consequence of the ravages of war.
IN 1950 CARL APPELT ESTABLISHED A DEPARTMENT STORE WITH A TOTAL OF NINE FLOORS (FROM -1 TO +7) FOR THE NEUMANN COMPANY.
In the reorganisation of the post-war business the beautiful façade of the old Mozart Hof was integrated into the back of the department store. This place is still of historical importance today as the place in which Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart lived and died, and also completed his most famous works The Requiem and The Magic Flute.
THE ARRIVAL OF A NEW OWNER IN THE 90S HERALDED THE MODERNISATION OF GERNGROSSGRUPPE DEPARTMENT STORES AND THE BUILDING UNDERWENT COMPLETE RENOVATION.
The characteristic street-shaping edifice from the 50s formed the basis for a new interpretation of the location. Other essential creative elements were added, like the impressive exterior panoramic lift and the Skybox. Both allow a unique look over the roofs of Vienna and became main attractions in Kärntner Straße. Today STEFFL is a privately owned organisation, whose owner loves life, beauty and has one clear vision: a store that interacts with the outside world.